The list

I don’t make new-year resolutions because, let’s be honest, I make resolutions all year round. However, I’ve been wanting to be more active on my illustration blog for a very long time, and this is my latest resolution, which just happens to happen at the beginning of this year. All circumstantial.

Now, let’s face it, the blank paper I mean. Anything goes! That’s why, I tell myself, I don’t manage to finish anything for the blog, because I could be drawing so many things that I can’t decide on which one to finish; not because I’ve been lazy or busy or avoiding the blank paper that stares you back. Nope. It’s just that there are sooo many things one can draw and paint that I’m overwhelmed by choices (yes, I treat myself very kindly ✰).

In order to, ahem, help me to choose what to draw (and paint), I have decided to make a list. Yes, I’m one of those people who like writing down lists. It feels like you are going somewhere, even if that place is just the bottom of the page, but I got there all by myself ✰.
Without further ado, here is my list to motivate me to be more active on my illustration blog. Let’s just call it ‘the list’, shall we?

1.- It has to be an editorial-ish illustration.
2.- It has to be fashion inspired -somehow-.
3.- It has to have a theme.
You know what, make it two themes! Because life is short and I’m not going to make it less complicated by now.
Ooh! A sub-list! I’m spoiling myself today… everything for motivation!
3.1- It has to have a general theme: Numbers*.
3.2.- It has to have a secondary theme related to the chosen number.
4. I have to post one illustration weekly -minimum-.

Tadaaa! The list ✰.

*My general theme is ‘numbers’. For example, if I choose the one and only # 1, I have to illustrate something that is kind of ‘one in a million’, not literally.
Let’s say number 1 is related to the secondary theme ‘Red Carpet’. Then I choose one single garment, be it a gown or dinner jacket, by event among the multiple red-carpet examples (some people like to call it cinema/music ceremonies and all that jazz). This way I have the list points 2 and 3 (3.1 and 3.2). Aren’t lists the best or what?

I know, I know… go and draw something!

Leave a Reply

